An Unconventional Love Story: Forever and Always?

When we were classmates and coworkers, I never really thought we’d be friends. Once we were good friends, I never really thought we would start dating. And, even once we started dating, I never expected our relationship to be like this.

Just when I think things between us can’t get any better, that we’ve finally reached our maximum potential and our relationship is going to begin to plateau, something comes along and pushes it up to the next level. Every time I start to disintegrate into self-doubt, assuming that the end of us is near, we are drawn even closer together.

The longer we are together, the kinder, more thoughtful, and more affectionate you become. The longer we are together, the easier it becomes to talk about any and all uncomfortable subjects. The longer we are together, the more at ease we are with each other, physically and emotionally. The longer we are together, the more we begin to talk about a long-term future. The longer we are together, the more I begin to believe that such a future could be a reality.

I can’t say what the future holds for us. All I can say is that I am so happy I met you, so happy I became friends with you, so happy for our unconventional, long-time-coming love story. I love you, and I can’t wait to see where life takes us.

Leave a Reply

