Last Friday, almost exactly six weeks after I walked at graduation, I got a job offer.

Today, I mailed in the last leg of paperwork to make it official, and the whole ordeal feels pretty surreal. In reality, getting this job is not any big accomplishment. After all, I will only be working part-time, and the application process was pretty pain-free. No grueling interviews to endure or ridiculous hoops to jump through. I won’t even be reporting to an office every day. Instead, I’ll be working from the comfort and safety of my own home. In fact, my mom couldn’t believe how excited I was over “that little job.”

I am excited about “that little job” though. After all, this is really the first job I’ve earned entirely on my own. That’s not to say that I didn’t deserve or didn’t work hard at the jobs I’ve had previously. Quite the opposite, in fact. But with each of those jobs, I had some help slipping in the door. My very first job, working at my private pool’s concession stand when I was 14,  had a traditional interview involved, but the “bosses” interviewing me were people I had known for years. My undergraduate job at Facilities Management was offered to me because my dad knew my soon-to-be supervisor. I never even put my name on an application…she basically just asked him to ask me if I wanted the job. Finally, for my teaching assistantship, I was automatically considered for the position as a graduate school applicant. I wasn’t even in the first round of selections for that position; I got the job after someone else turned the offer down.

But this job, as inconsequential as it may seem to outside parties, is different. I didn’t have a man on the inside or a shortcut through the door. I just turned in my application, CV, and cover letter into a national search and hoped for the best. When I got through to the next round, I had to rely on my experiences as a writing consultant to complete the required simulation. My work in that simulation is what landed me the job. I got this job based on my credentials and talents alone. And that’s a great feeling.

Beyond that, this job is going to be a great asset to achieving my future plans and goals. It is not only relevant to my degree, but it is also directly related to the area I wish to research in my dissertation. It would also boost my post-grad credentials for securing a job as a writing center coordinator or director. Oh, and it pays enough to cover all of my bills. And I still get the rest of the summer off.

Can you say winner winner, chicken dinner?

 

Leave a Reply

