In Denial

I can hardly believe it. I feel like I’m just starting to get into the groove of things with my new set of students and my own coursework. I feel like I am still trying to get organized for the semester ahead. But the semester is pretty much freakin’ over.

More unbelievable, however, is that it’s all almost over. Yes, the semester, that’s true of course. But, I mean, ALL of it. Graduation is two weeks from today. Five days of classes and exam week are all that stand between me and my M.A. And that’s that. No more grad school, no more teaching, no more TA support group. No more shared office, clad in movie posters, Portland illustrations, and Harry Potter Funkos. No more days in the halls of my university. After six years, two degrees, and countless memories, I finally have to say goodbye. For real this time.

I can’t believe this wild whirlwind called grad school is almost over and that I won’t be a TA anymore. I can’t believe my life will go on without my university being a part of it on a day-to-day basis. I can’t believe I have to find a job and enter into “the real world.” I can’t believe that I will no longer be a student and will never have to be again if I don’t want to. I can’t believe any of it.

I guess that means I’m in denial. I don’t know. I’m still holding out that something changes and the department decides to hire a lecturer or two for next school year. That way I can stay at my precious university, settle into an office right down the hall from my peers, and spend the next school year teaching my beloved Harry Potter class. Only time will tell.

Graduation is almost here…I guess. Congratulations to all my fellow deniers, and cheers to whatever may be next.

 

2 comments

  1. J E N N I F E R · April 24, 2016

    Hey! Congratulations on your – almost – graduation.

    I’m loving your blog (followed!) but I would also like to invite you to submit a short piece to my own. I think your perspective and style of writing would be a perfect piece for my project.

    It’d also be a great way to get your blog/writing out there.

    Please feel free to email me (jennifer@youngandtwenty) with more questions, or take a look at the ‘BEING Young & Twenty’ page on my blog.

    I hope I’ll hear from you 🙂

    Jennifer

    youngandtwenty.com

    Like

    • cheetahcici · April 28, 2016

      Thank you for your kind words, Jennifer! I am definitely interested in potentially contributing to your project. Once I get through the next week and a half, I will spend some time looking at your blog and will get in contact with you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

